Project Update. Twitter, and different outlets of knowledge.

Hello!

Creating a new post to discuss the new updates concerning my project.

I will be discussing four different aspects.

1) Website issues

2) Twitter Update.

3) New ways of obtaining knowledge

First of all, I have found that website design is a lot harder than I first imagined. After searching through the University of School private web publishing tool, I realized that it is quite out of date. Not only that, but our publishing tool is quite limited in scope when it comes to programs allowed to use. I tried using FileZilla, but the program requires a substantial knowledge in FTP coding. I moved on to Dreamweaver and actually had a lot more success. I used Dreamweaver a lot in highschool, so I had enough experience to fiddle around with the code and the tools of the program. Unfortunately, my knowledge is lacking when it comes to layout design. I couldn’t create anything that looked sub-par to websites that already present within the web. I looked around at other web site publishing tools and I ran into this website. Wix, is a free publishing tool that already has user-created free layouts. You take the layout and change the layout to your desired project. I’m going to use this tool for my website, because for now I just want to get the information in an organized manner.

2) My twitter has been going quite well. In my last post, I showed images that organized my twitter posts in a specific schedule.

Image

In the image above you can see the organization hootsuite allows twitter users to do. I have organized all my tweets to properly portray the journey of the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry.

Feel free to check out my twitter page here: Royal Hamilton Light Infantry.

3) After running into issues regarding finding different sources on my topic. I went into new research outlets I haven’t before. I went to the World War 2 talk forum. This forum is incredible because it encompasses thousands of users who are all quite adept in the history of World War 2.Image

In the image above you see a few topics concerning the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry. I created the topic “A History of the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry” and i’ve had multiple people show interest in the topic. People within the forum replied to my thread, and have posted images, and gave me links to sources I wouldn’t have even considered. The internet is a beautiful thing, and if you find the right outlets the information you can obtain is endless.

 

 

 

About kylegarland

Fourth Year History major and English minor. Finishing my undergrad at the University of Guelph.
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment