Assignment #2 Orlando Project.

Orlando_tree-_blue_transparentImageThe Orlando Project is a wo

men’s literature database on the internet the specifically deals with women writing in Britain. It encompasses over 1,200 writers including both female, and male authors. The database is continually growing and expanding into more directions concerning lost authors, or more obscure authors that often hard to find context for. The database is extremely helpful for scholars in the literature field who are seeking sources in women’s writing in Britain. It has plenty of sources to choose from, with a very complex search engine. As stated in my last assignment, I stressed the importance of narrow-vision when it comes to searching for specific sources. ORLANDO has

multiple functions that allow you to be very specific in the fields you are interested in.  For example..

In the above image you can see that the search engine is based off ‘Tags’. These tags are put on specific files, and authors to maximize search results.

Again, in the above image you can see I have selected the parameters what “influences her” which contains the author “Margaret Atwood”

Now you can see the finals results which I highlighted in this screenshot. You can see that only a few search results have appeared because of the narrow search. This is just a practice, but it reveals that Edna O’brian indeed was influenced by multiple authors, which included Margaret Atwood.

This database was shown to us by Professor Susan Brown. She has a significant role in the research collection, and site administrating for ORLANDO. Seeing a database like this, gives me insight in how I can go about looking at doing my project regarding a World War 2 database. If I can understand the MARK programming used, and how I also could categorize the results, I could began to understand how to structure my own.

About kylegarland

Fourth Year History major and English minor. Finishing my undergrad at the University of Guelph.
This entry was posted in Assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment