By Jolly, I think I got it!

After several days of reading through the comments and suggestions, I have finally come up with a concrete project idea. After today’s class discussing social media, I further researched the idea of educational approaches to a broader audience through different mediums.

To elaborate, I personally feel that general knowledge of World War 2 history has been neglected in both high school and universities. I was considering why that is, and it really all comes down to awareness. Plenty of youth, and students are unaware of specific facts about the subject. I understand that history in itself is a very hard subject to teach to youth, but I am hoping if I open a few new mediums with the digital world, that I can metaphorically open a whole new door for the topic of military history.

Concerning social media, I felt that one of the most prominent forms of digital interaction was through the social website twitter. In class we discussed, and learned that even specific modes of history have actually used twitter effectively. Specifically  we looked at the World War 2 twitter feed that posts facts, and stories concerning military history.

You can see examples of these:

1941 World War 2

World War 2 History 

World War 2 Today

As you can see there is already plenty of these twitter feeds contributing to the history of World War 2. These are quite educational in that sense that they are small quantities of information that people might be interested in. Say I post a tweet concerning a specific causality list in The Battle of the Bulge, a twitter follower might be prompted to look further into the battle and find additional information about it.

Concerning my project:

I want my personal project to be educational, which will help gain awareness for World War 2 history, and promote a more diverse Canadian perspective. 

This is my project in 3 steps:

1) I want my project to promote more awareness on Canadian involvement in World War 2.  To do this, I am going to follow The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry through their tour of Europe. I picked this battalion because it feels close to home, and it is one of only battalions that were a part of operation Dieppe, and operation Overlord. 

I am going to use report documents, and primary sources to get an accurate portrayal of what they encountered during their European campaign.

2) During the process of researching the The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, I am going to include a mapping portion to my project. Using this program found here: Animating history. I am going to include an accurate representation of how the battalion moved during the war. I am hoping this will give a more national appreciation of our Canadian Contribution in World War 2.

3) The last segment of my presentation will specifically deal with twitter. I am going to create a The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry twitter page, where followers can actively see updates of the battalions journey through World War 2. I am going to use historical facts, but I will be creating an anonymous solider who will detail his experience in the regiment. Tweets will range from historical facts about training, to tweets about the weather, battle strategy, and emotions a solider might have felt during a firefight. 

With these three compenents I hope I can make a very resourceful, fun and educational project to gain awareness for the general history of World War 2, and more specifically Canadian pride for our involvement during World War 2.

About kylegarland

Fourth Year History major and English minor. Finishing my undergrad at the University of Guelph.
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By Jolly, I think I got it!

  1. hist4170 says:

    Sounds promising Kyle. Where are your sources located?

  2. nminiaci says:

    Wow sounds like an awesome project. For your tweets, will you have the whole year planned out? How do you decide which events to include and which not to, particularly on long events or on days when the Battalion may have had several things going on but in different places (if such a problem exists)? Is there a way to set up all your tweets in advance and then have them roll out automatically so that you do not have to keep on updating them? I am looking forward to seeing how it all pans out. Perhaps some history buffs and enthusiasts might be indirect promoters of your historical twitter account

Leave a comment